The Honorable Lamar Alexander 455 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Barbara Comstock 229 Cannon House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Sheldon Whitehouse 530 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Elizabeth Esty 221 Cannon House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

August 1, 2018

Senator Alexander, Senator Whitehouse, Representative Comstock and Representative Esty:

The undersigned organizations write to thank you for your support for innovation in infrastructure and particularly your sponsorship of the Innovative Materials In American Growth and Infrastructure, Newly Expanded (IMAGINE) Act.

Going back several decades, each major piece of infrastructure legislation has included provisions that promote innovative technologies and drive solutions that improve the performance of our national infrastructure. The IMAGINE Act is the next natural evolution of this effort, by driving research and incentivizing investments in technologies that will enhance the durability and extend the service life of our built environment. Importantly, this legislation will empower localities in coastal and rural areas to build structures which meet the critical performance they need, but lack the resources to construct.

Many of the groups signing this letter compete in the marketplace every day. But we are united in our commitment to work with you and other leaders in Congress to build a 21<sup>st</sup> Century infrastructure designed to meet the needs of our 21<sup>st</sup> Century challenges.

As Congress continues to work with the Administration to shape the next generation of infrastructure investment, we believe the tenets of the IMAGINE Act will be important components of a broad strategy to make the most of taxpayer dollars. We look forward to continuing to work with you on this important initiative.

Sincerely,

American Chemistry Council American Coatings Association American Composites Manufacturers Association Geosynthetic Materials Association LafargeHolcim National Asphalt Pavement Association Owens Corning Plastics Industry Association Vinyl Institute